Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer



The Fullerton Hornets have earned much deserved recognition following their championship season. FC finished off the year 7-3-2 in conference play and sported a +14 goal differential, winning the Orange Empire Conference title.

Due to the team's great success, 7 players have been named to the all-conference honors, including 4 on the first team. 

Coach Greg Aviles was named coach of the year in the conference for a second consecutive season, leading Fullerton to two of their four conference titles in team history, dating back to 1981. 

Sophomore forward Alejandro Castillo, freshman midfielder Ryan Meinardus, freshman defender Manny Tovar, and sophomore defender Marco Polo were the four Hornets named to the OEC First Team All-Conference.

Alejandro Castillo tallied 4 goals, including a game winning goal, and an assist in just 6 conference starts.

Ryan Meinardus started 8 conference games, scoring 6 goals and racking up 6 assists. He had two game-winning goals and scored in his one chance from the penalty spot .

Manny Tovar and Marco Polo were at the heart of the best defense in the conference. Fullerton allowed just 11 goals in conference play and locked down 4 shutouts.

Tovar also tallied a goal for himself while Polo contributed an assist in conference play.

FC also had three players make OEC's Second Team All-Conference. Freshman forward Kentrell Dorsey, sophomore midfielder Mike Calderon, and sophomore defender Brian Martinez would collect the honors.

Kentrell Dorsey scored 6 goals and provided 3 assists in conference play while starting just 5 games. 2 of his 6 goals were game-winners.

Mike Calderon kept everything in sync in the middle of the field while also scoring once in conference play, which proved to be a game-winning goal. 

Brian Martinez was another crucial piece to the Fullerton defensive puzzle. Joining Tovar and Polo, he was a part of the best defensive unit in the OEC.

Coach Aviles has much to be proud of after another title-winning season. He will lead the Hornets as they begin their postseason push toward even more success this year. The Hornets played in the toughest conference in the state in 2019 with an incredible 6 out of 7 teams from the OEC making the playoffs.

Up Next: The No. 3 Hornets will host the first round of the Southern California Regionals this Saturday, November 23rd when they welcome No. 14 Bakersfield College. Game time is at 2:00 pm.

Like us on Facebook!




COACH OF THE YEAR: Greg Aviles, Fullerton College


MVP: Daniel Vargas, Forward, Freshman, Orange Coast College




Ryan Meinardus                      Midfielder                    Freshman                     Fullerton

Alejandro Castillo                   Forward                       Sophomore                  Fullerton

Manny Tovar                           Defender                     Freshman                     Fullerton

Marco Polo                              Defender                     Sophomore                  Fullerton

Anthony Tobon                       Defender                     Freshman                     Orange Coast

Max Copeland                         Defender                     Freshman                     Orange Coast

Jake Whitcomb                        Defender                     Freshman                     Orange Coast

Byron Gutierrez                       Midfielder                    Sophomore                  Golden West

Rigo Cuevas                            Midfielder                    Sophomore                  Golden West

Ricardo Briseno                      Forward                       Freshman                     Golden West

Marcelo Aguirre                      Midfielder                    Freshman                     Santa Ana

Felipe Sanchez                        Midfielder                    Sophomore                  Santa Ana

Benjamin Asabi                       Forward                       Sophomore                  Irvine Valley

Max Kleinhammes                  Forward                       Freshman                     Irvine Valley

Nomar Ibarra                           Midfielder                    Freshman                     Cypress

Lorenzo Laviolette                  Forward                       Sophomore                  Cypress

Guillermo Fernandez              Midfielder                    Freshman                     Santiago Cyn


                                                            SECOND TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE


            Kentrell Dorsey                      Forward                       Freshman                     Fullerton

            Mike Calderon                        Midfield                       Sophomore                  Fullerton

            Brian Martinez                        Defender                     Sophomore                  Fullerton

            Cayden Bonner                       Defender                     Sophomore                  Orange Coast

            Chase Bullock                         Midfielder                    Freshman                     Orange Coast

            Tyler Beteag                            Defender                     Freshman                     Orange Coast

            Jonathan Ruiz                         Midfielder                    Freshman                     Golden West

            Wilbert Suarez                        Forward                       Freshman                     Golden West

            Carlos Guerra                          Defender                     Sophomore                  Santa Ana

            Abel Bautista                           Midfielder                    Sophomore                  Santa Ana

            Nate King                                Goalkeeper                  Sophomore                  Irvine Valley

            Gibae Kim                               Midfielder                    Sophomore                  Irvine Valley

            Kiam Aminloo                        Defender                     Freshman                     Cypress

            Leonardo Mondragon             Goalkeeper                  Freshman                     Cypress

            Lucas Clarida                          Goalkeeper                  Freshman                     Santiago Cyn

            Kevin Mendoza                       Defender                     Freshman                     Santiago Cyn